A+ R A-

Lt. Darryl Hurt, Lt. Tim Bacon Receives William 'Bill' Howe Award

E-mail Print PDF

Share this article with a friend

The Riverside Coalition for Police Accountability recognized Riverside Police Department Lt. Darryl Hurt and Lt. Tim Bacon with the William (Bill) Howe Award for Police Accountability on December 1, 2010.

The conferral of the Bill Howe Award took place at the annual ‘Celebrating Community Awards Breakfast’ organized by The Group. The award was created by the Riverside Coalition for Police Accountability to recognize a community member for their commitment to the principles of police oversight and their efforts to promote police accountability work.

Deborah Wong, co-chair of the Riverside Coalition for Police Accountability with Michael Dunn, announced that the group decided to recognize the two officers for their attempts to expose the unauthorized cold platting of city vehicles and the issuance of concealed weapons to several Riverside city managers.

She said, “Lts. Hurt and Bacon were both passed over for promotion to captain, and they made the painful decision to sue the City of Riverside for retaliation, knowing that it would result in ostracism. The depositions taken for their case in 2009 and 2010 offer a startlingly detailed window on the tangled connections between City Hall and the Riverside Police Department, and the troubled ways that the police unions and local City Council elections are intimately connected.”

Dunn noted that “Lts. Hurt and Bacon upheld very high ethical standards at great personal cost. They are the most visible individuals who blew the whistle on the City and the RPD in the past year. One of the ways to recognize the efforts of all those who did so at professional risk to themselves is to give this award to the two individuals who chose to step forward publicly.

Their retirements—in July 2010 for Lieutenant Bacon and January 2011 for Lieutenant Hurt—are the community’s loss.”

Lts. Hurt and Bacon were not able to attend the event and City Council member Paul Davis received the award for them. Davis said, “Lts. Hurt and Bacon regret not being here today but are pleased, honored, and humbled by this award. Lt. Bacon told me that he was just trying to do the right thing and that he doesn’t think any award should be necessary for that.

He notes that the last year has been personally difficult for him and Lt. Hurt but he still believes the RPD is the best police department in the U.S.”

The award is named for Bill Howe, the first Chair of the Community Police Review Commission and a retired police chief whose dedication to accountability, oversight, and good police practices set the standards for the award. The 2008 and 2009 awardees were Jim Ward and Chani Beeman, both members of the Community Police Review Commission.

Add comment

By using our comment system, you agree to not post profane, vulgar, offensive, or slanderous comments. Spam and soliciting are strictly prohibited. Violation of these rules will result in your comments being deleted and your IP Address banned from accessing our website in the future. Your e-mail address will NOT be published, sold or used for marketing purposes.

Security code

BVN National News Wire