A+ R A-

Mayor Ron Loveridge to be Honored at NAACP's 60th Annual Freedom Fund Awards

E-mail Print PDF

Share this article with a friend

The National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) Riverside Branch will honor 13 great leaders at its 60th Annual Freedom Fund Awards & Scholarship Dinner. This event will take place Thursday, May 6, 2010 at 5:30 p.m. at the Riverside Convention Center in downtown Riverside. This celebration will be well attended by various community leaders and elected city officials. The keynote speaker will be Los Angeles County Superior Court Judge David Cunningham, and words of inspiration given by Bishop Lacy K. Sykes, Jr. of Crossword Christian Church.

The theme for the event is, “Reflective, Respected, Resilient and Responsible.”

Booker T. Washington once said,“Success is to be measured not so much by the position that one has reached in life as by the obstacles which he has overcome while trying to succeed.”

Great leaders whose accomplishments merit this honor have impacted the Southern Inland Region. These visionaries come from different segments of business and community sectors including the Honorable Mayor Ronald O. Loveridge. Mayor Loveridge is currently serving his fifth term (since 1994) as mayor for the City of Riverside and also serves as the President of the National League of Cities, a national lobbying, advocacy and leadership organization. He has over 30 year of public service which began as Councilman of Ward One in 1979. He provides leadership to the City of Riverside through numerous groups and task forces such as: SmartRiverside, Mayor’s Multicultural Forum, Transportation Accountability Performance (TAP), Council of Economic Development Advisors (CEDA), Workforce Advisory Performance (WAP), Cultural Accountability Performance (CAP) and many more.

Other honorees include: Beverly & Scott Bailey (Stronghold Engineering) – Business/Entrepreneur Award; Lois Carson – Community Service Award; Habitat for Humanity – Corporate Award; Rosalyn J. Anderson / Rodney Taylor – Education Awards; Riverside County Bar Association – Law & Justice Award; Mayor Ronald O. Loveridge – Political/Government Award; Vanessa Brown (Inland Empire Community Calendar-IECC) – Media & Journalism Award; Dr. Horace C. Stevens, M.D. – Medicine & Health Award; Lieutenant Colonel Frances Lucas – Military Award; Dr. Gerald T. Hightower (Purpose Center International Ministries) – Religion Award; Emmett & Bennett Reid / Pastor Drew & Jeannie Brattrud – Youth Awards; Marshall Anderson – The Omar Stratton Award; Susan & Jim Brennecke – The Roy Wilkins Award The Riverside Branch of the NAACP has been faithfully serving the community for 70 years with the mission of advocating for political, educational, social, and economic quality of the rights of all citizens, as well as eradicating racial injustice.

NAACP Riverside Branch is honored to recognize the significant contributions of the abovenamed community leaders who represent various communities within Riverside and San Bernardino County.

For more information call 951- 324-9603 or visit www.naacpriverside.org.

Add comment

By using our comment system, you agree to not post profane, vulgar, offensive, or slanderous comments. Spam and soliciting are strictly prohibited. Violation of these rules will result in your comments being deleted and your IP Address banned from accessing our website in the future. Your e-mail address will NOT be published, sold or used for marketing purposes.

Security code


+1 # Guest 2010-04-22 08:21
It is with great pride that I see Mayor Loveridge's name in the group to be honored by the NAACP or any group these days. I am one who normally has gotten on the "If they are in office, vote to remove them" bunch, but with Mayor Loveridge I must admit, he does an exceptional job of continuously improving the City of Riverside with his many forward thinking programs that advance the City, not himself. He deserves much more recognistion for what he does, but this is well deserved.

BVN National News Wire