A+ R A-

2012 Local Election Results

E-mail Print PDF

Share this article with a friend

November election run-offs pitting the top two candidates are the name of the game following Tuesday’s election results. With all precincts reporting, results are not official until certified on Friday.

This election marked the first under the new political lines drawn by the nonpartisan Citizen’s Redistricting Commission. The Inland Empire’s huge population growth in the last decade provided new assembly seats in Riverside and San Bernardino counties. In Riverside, the race for 41st Congressional District ended as expected. Republican John Tavaglione will face Democrat Mark Takano in November. The 42nd Congressional District ended with Representative Ken Calvert (Republican) to go head-to-head with Democrat Michael Williamson in the Fall. The 61st Assembly District will have Riverside teacher Jose Medina (Democrat) competing against Moreno Valley Councilman Bill Batey (Republican). Both candidates garnered the necessary votes and will face-off again in November.

In the 60th Assembly District, Alvord Unified Trustee Jose Perez (D) and businessman Eric Linder (R) earned the top spots.

The hotly contested race for mayor comes down to a November run-off between Riverside City Councilman William “Rusty” Bailey and Ed Adkison. In a bid to retain his seat, of 1st District Riverside County Supervisor, Bob Buster leads Assemblyman Kevin Jeffries and California Highway Patrol officer Mike Soubirous. If neither candidate gets at least 51 percent of the vote, the two top candidates’ head to a November run-off. The race for Riverside County Superior Court Judge came down to Craig Riemer retaining his bench seat in a tight race against Supervising Deputy District Attorney John Henry. Riemer had 51.26 percent of the votes against Henry’s 48.74 percent. In San Bernardino County, the run for 31st Congressional District had Republication legislator Representative Gary Miller and State Senator Bob Dutton vying for top honor against the six-candidate field. Miller garnered 14,057 votes while Dutton received 13,088 votes. The two will face off this fall.

The 35th Congressional District will end with a November run-off with two Democrats vying for the position. Senator Gloria Negrete McLeod will race against Representative Joe Baca. Baca received 44.9 percent of the vote and Negrete McLeod received 36.4 percent. Rialto Councilman Joe Baca, Jr. and Black Voice News Publisher Cheryl R. Brown head the race for 47th Assembly District.

At the midnight hour, former Chairman of the San Manuel Band of Serrano Mission Indians James Ramos, was the leader against 3rd District Supervisor Neil Derry who is fighting to retain his seat. Both candidates will compete on the November ballot this fall. 5th District Supervisor Josie Gonzales lead over her competitors, John Taack and Silvia J. Marroquin, concluded with Gonzales winning her seat. This win marks Gonzales’ third term as the areas 5th District Supervisor.

Add comment

By using our comment system, you agree to not post profane, vulgar, offensive, or slanderous comments. Spam and soliciting are strictly prohibited. Violation of these rules will result in your comments being deleted and your IP Address banned from accessing our website in the future. Your e-mail address will NOT be published, sold or used for marketing purposes.

Security code

BVN National News Wire