A+ R A-

Turner Broadcasting Announces 2004 Trumpet Award Honorees

E-mail Print PDF

Share this article with a friend
Atlanta, Georgia

Nelson Mandela, Angela Bassett, Isaac Hayes and Marion Jones are among the honorees at Turner Broadcasting System, Inc.’s 2004 Trumpet Awards ceremony, to be held at the Omni Hotel Grand Ballroom in Atlanta, Monday, January 26 at 6:00 p.m.

Turner Broadcasting’s flagship entertainment network TBS Superstation will celebrate Black History Month by presenting coverage of the event Saturday, February 21, at 7:00 p.m. (ET)/8:30 p.m. (PT). The Trumpet Awards honor African American achievers in fields as diverse as law, politics and entertainment.

Xernona Clayton, the creative force behind the Trumpet Awards since 1993, will once again serve as executive producer for the event. Also returning for the second year as executive producers are Geovanni Brewer and Jeff Fischgrund (Soul Train Music Awards, World Stund Awards) of Black & White TV, Inc. Emmy-winning director Ron De Moraes (2002 Winter Opening Ceremony, 9th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards) will direct the event, which will feature production design by Emmy-winning designer Steve Bass (2001 Emmy Awards, 2002 Winter Olympics Medals Plaza and Ceremonies).

TBS Superstation is Turner Broadcasting System, Inc.’s flagship entertainment network and America’s first ad-supported cable network. Currently basic cable’s #1 network among adults 18-34 in total day, TBS Superstation is home to the Non-Stop Comedy Block, featuring hot contemporary comedies like Seinfeld and Friends; high-profile original series, such as Ripley’s Believe It or Not! and the reality-competition series House Rules; blockbuster movies; hosted movie showcases; and thrilling sports from the worlds of Major League Baseball and Pac 10 and Big 12 college football.

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc., a AOL Time Warner company, is a major producer of news and entertainment products around the world and the leading provider of programming for the basic cable industry.

The following is a complete list of the 2004 Trumpet Awards Honorees:

Businessman Don Barden
Actress Angela Bassett
Musician, songwriter, actor and entrepreneur Isaac Hayes
Physician and philanthropist Dr. Anthony Pollard
Singer, actress and minister Della Reese
Elektra Records music label executive Sylvia Rhone
Hip-hop legend and business tycoon Russell Simmons
Political and women’s rights activist Dr. C. Delores Tucker
Legal advocate and Federal District Court Judge Horace T. Ward
Global Award: Former South African President Nelson Mandela
Humanitarian Award: Producer, director and political and social activist Norman Lear
Young STAR Award: Music prodigy Jordan Adams

Add comment

By using our comment system, you agree to not post profane, vulgar, offensive, or slanderous comments. Spam and soliciting are strictly prohibited. Violation of these rules will result in your comments being deleted and your IP Address banned from accessing our website in the future. Your e-mail address will NOT be published, sold or used for marketing purposes.

Security code

BVN National News Wire