A+ R A-

Turner Broadcasting’s 11th Annual Trumpet Awards

E-mail Print PDF

Share this article with a friend
The 11th Annual Trumpet Awards, hosted by Turner Broadcasting System, Inc., which was held in Atlanta (Georgia) was a resounding success.

Xernona Clayton, Creator and Executive Producer of the Trumpet Awards, extended her personal invitation to more than 300 members of the working African American press; and approxiamtely 75 members attended the three-day event.

The Trumpet Awards wil be aired on TBS Superstation on February 22nd. The event, hosted by D.L. Hughley, fetaures musical performances by Chaka Khan, Destiny’s Child, Al Jarreau, Donnie McClurkin and Mary Mary. The Trumpet Awards honor African American achievers in fields as diverse as law, politics and entertainment.

The following is a complete list of the 2003 Trumpet Awards Honorees:

Special Achievment in Music Trumpet Award:
Recording artists Destiny’s Child;

Special Achievement in Film Trumpet Award: Actress Pam Grier;

Special Achievement in Sports Trumpet Award: NBA Hall-of-Famer Julius “Dr. J” Erving;

Filmmaker Trumpet Award: Director Spike Lee;

American Hero Trumpet Award: Lt. Col. Marilyn Wills;

Civil Rights Trumpet Award: Civil rights lawyer and former presidential advisor Vernon Jordan;

Trailblazer Trumpet Award: Newsweek editor Mark Whitaker;

Leadership Trumpet Award:
100 Black Men of America Board Chairman and TWD, Inc. President and CEO Thomas W. Dortch Jr.;

Pinnacle Trumpet Award: Actors-writers Ruby Dee & Ossie Davis; Global Trumpet Award: Prime Minister of the Bahamas Perry Christie;

Rising Star Trumpet Award: Golfer Cheyenne Woods and Jonathan Levin;

Teacher of the Year Trumpet Award: Najiyyah ijlal Nashid.

Presenters for the awards ceremony include singer Patti LaBelle, pop star Lenny Kravitz, NBA Hall of Famer Kareem Abdul Jabbar, attorney Johnnie Cochran, actor Michael Beach, actor-director Robert Townsend, actress Garcelle Beauvais-Nilon, talk show host Ananda Lewis, actress Sheryl Lee Ralph and Sudanese supermodel Alek Wek.

Xernona Clayton, the creative force behind the Trumpet Awards since 1993, serves as exeuctive producer with Geovanni Brewer and Jeff Fischgrund (10th Annual Soul Train Music Awards, World Stunt Awars) of Black & White TV, Inc.

Emmy-winning director Ron De Moraes (2002 Winter Olympics Opening Ceremony) serves as director, with Emmy-winning designer Steve Bass (2001 Emmy Awards) providing production design.

Add comment

By using our comment system, you agree to not post profane, vulgar, offensive, or slanderous comments. Spam and soliciting are strictly prohibited. Violation of these rules will result in your comments being deleted and your IP Address banned from accessing our website in the future. Your e-mail address will NOT be published, sold or used for marketing purposes.

Security code

BVN National News Wire