A+ R A-

30th American Music Awards to Air January 13th

E-mail Print PDF

Share this article with a friend
Los Angeles

The 30th annual “American Music Awards” special will be telecast “live” on the ABC Television Network from the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles on Monday, January 13, 8-11 p.m. The TV special is a presentation of Dick Clark Productions, Inc., with Clark serving as Executive Producer.

Hosting the telecast will be The Osbournes.

Nominations for the “American Music Awards” are in eight categories. In the Pop/Rock, Country, and Hip-Hop/R&B categories, awards will be presented for Favorite Male and Female Vocalist, Favorite Group, Favorite Album, and Favorite New Artist. In Latin Music, Contemporary Inspirational, Adult Contemporary and Alternative Music categories, awards will be presented for Favorite Artist. An award will also be presented for Favorite Soundtrack. In all, a total of 20 awards will be presented.

In addition, a special “Award of Merit” will be presented to Alabama for their “outstanding contributions to the musical entertainment of the American public.” Previous recipients of this award have been Bing Crosby, Berry Gordy, Irving Berlin, Johnny Cash, Ella Fitzgerald, Perry Como, Benny Goodman, Chuck Berry, Stevie Wonder, Kenny Rogers, Michael Jackson, Loretta Lynn, Paul McCartney, Elvis Presley, The Beach Boys, Willie Nelson, Neil Diamond, Merle Haggard, James Brown, rock promoter Bill Graham, Whitney Houston, Prince, Tammy Wynette, Little Richard, Frank Sinatra, Billy Joel, Gloria Estefan, Janet Jackson and Garth Brooks. Reba McEntire will host a special salute to the group.

Winners of the American Music Awards are selected by the public. A national sampling of approximately 20,000 taking into account geographic location, age, sex and ethnic origin, have been sent ballots by the National Family Opinion, Inc. firm under the supervision of Broadcast Research and Consulting, Inc. Names of the nominees on the ballot were compiled from data supplied by the music industry trade publication, Radio & Records, and the Soundscan, Inc., management information system. Results of the voting are kept secret until envelopes are opened during the presentation ceremonies.

Among those scheduled to perform on this year’s show are: Christina Aguilera, B2K, Kenny Chesney, Ja Rule, Elton John dueting with Tim McGraw, matchbox twenty, a duet by Toby Keith and Willie Nelson, Kelly Osbourne and Shania Twain.

Add comment

By using our comment system, you agree to not post profane, vulgar, offensive, or slanderous comments. Spam and soliciting are strictly prohibited. Violation of these rules will result in your comments being deleted and your IP Address banned from accessing our website in the future. Your e-mail address will NOT be published, sold or used for marketing purposes.

Security code

BVN National News Wire