A+ R A-

Fontana’s Newly Appointed City Council Members

E-mail Print PDF

Share this article with a friend

The Fontana Mayor and City Council are pleased to announce the appointment of two new City Council Members. The appointments were made to fill the City Council vacancies for the seats of Council Member Janice Rutherford who was elected to 2nd District Supervisor for San Bernardino County and Council Member Acquanetta Warren who was elected as Mayor of the City of Fontana, in November.

The appointment of Lydia Salazar-Wibert and Matthew Slowik was announced December 21, 2010 at a City Council Meeting after a thorough application process. Twenty-Nine applicants applied. The list was narrowed to twelve applicants who were interviewed by the City Council on December 20, 2010. Mayor Warren, Council Member Roberts and Council Member Tahan thoughtfully listened to each candidate and came to a consensus on the appointments the following evening. Mayor Warren stated, "I am excited to start the New Year with a new team in place. I am looking forward to continuing the positive direction of this City into the future."

Council Member Salazar- Wibert was previously a Parks and Recreation Commissioner for eleven years and works for the Fontana Unified School District. Mrs. Wibert has volunteered with the Fontana School District and Fontana Police Department for over twenty years.

You are not currently authorized to post comments.


BVN National News Wire