A+ R A-

2011 Roy Hord 'Volunteer of the Year' Award Recipient

E-mail Print PDF

Share this article with a friend

Riverside Downtown Partnership (RDP) will be honoring seven individuals/ organizations at its 24th Annual Meeting and Awards Ceremony on Thursday, Feb. 17th at the Marriott Riverside.

One special award being handed out will be The Roy Hord “Volunteer of the Year” Award.

The Roy Hord “Volunteer of the Year” Award was established in 2003 in honor of the late Roy Hord (a former RDP Board member who faithfully served in the community of Riverside for over 25 years). Though a number of excellent candidates were submitted for consideration, RDP is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2011 Roy Hord Volunteer of the Year Award is Henry Coil.

Mr. Coil is a life-long Riverside resident, past president of Tilden-Coil constructors, and former city councilmember who served from 1963-1967. He was also recognized in 1988 as Riverside County’s Distinguished Citizen and inducted into the Hall of Fame of Theta Tau (the national Professional Engineering Fraternity) in 1995. Mr. Coil has dedicated his time and talent to the city of Riverside serving on numerous committees, as well as many public and private institutions and agencies; including the Riverside Arts Foundation, the American Red Cross, The Community Foundation, the Mission Inn Foundation, Family Service Association, and the Youth Opportunity Center. Deeply committed to our area’s education institutions, Mr. Coil has served as an active board member and leader of Riverside Community College District Foundation (three terms), the UCR Foundation, and as a Trustee for La Sierra University and University of Redlands. He is particularly passionate about his service to the Boy Scouts, earning the Distinguished Eagle Award recognizing his 50 years of continuous service. He continues to be a major supporter of community projects including the recent RCC Aquatic Center and many others, some as an anonymous donor.

Past recipients of the Roy Hord “Volunteer of the Year” Award are: The Roy Hord Family in 2003, Bill Gardner in 2004, Douglas R. Shackelton in 2005, Barbara Purvis in 2006, Geraldine Bowden in 2007, Dell Roberts in 2008, Nanci Larsen in 2009, and Debbi Guthrie in 2010.

The full list of Partners of Distinction Award Recipients include:

• Arts and Culture Award – California Riverside Ballet

• Business Activity Award – Phood on Main

• Downtown Event Award – Riverside Arts Walk

• Downtown Improvement Award – Raincross Promenade

• Safety and Security Award – Officer Ryan Bonaminio (posthumous) - presented to his parents, Joe and Geri Bonaminio

• The Roy Hord “Volunteer of the Year” Award – Henry Coil

• Chair’s Award – Judge Vic Miceli (post-humous) - presented to Bernice Miceli

The 24th Annual Meeting and Award Ceremony evening begins with a social networking cocktail hour at 5:30 p.m., followed by a dinner buffet, the awards ceremony, recognition of outgoing and incoming RDP board members, and an opportunity drawing.

Tickets are $50 per person, or $450 per table of ten. To purchase tickets or make a reservation call 951-781-7335.

Add comment

By using our comment system, you agree to not post profane, vulgar, offensive, or slanderous comments. Spam and soliciting are strictly prohibited. Violation of these rules will result in your comments being deleted and your IP Address banned from accessing our website in the future. Your e-mail address will NOT be published, sold or used for marketing purposes.

Security code

BVN National News Wire